25 March 2022

The Willows Hold Historic Fixture

Today, The Willows Cricket Club hosts a former International XI v The Willows School Girls XI in a fixture that is the first of its kind for the club.

Signifying a step in a new direction, The club is investing more time and energy into growing the women’s game and presenting similar opportunities to young female cricketers as they have been doing for high school boys over the last (nearly) 3 decades.



The following was republished with permission from The Willows CC


Welcome note from The Hon Nicholas Davidson QC

On behalf of The Willows, I welcome you to this fresh chapter in the Willows history. A condition of my accepting Presidency was the introduction of women’s cricket to which the Founder Mike Dormer agreed on the spot, before engaging with St Hilda’s Collegiate of Dunedin and Christchurch Girls’ High School, who played their first fixture at the ground 3 years ago. The enthusiasm and support were moving, and led to the immersion of women’s cricket and this first women Willowers game involving former First Class and international players and top school cricketers. Early season warm up games for Canterbury Men’s and Women’s teams are played at The Willows and Molly Loe has played for The Willows against the Otago Boys High School XI.

The beautiful ground at Loburn, and the human resources within The Willows have embraced women’s cricket, and women in the life of the club marked by this game on 25 March 2022. In September this year the first of the Arundel cricket scholars, a young man and woman, will come to The Willows, play cricket and work over summer as the first of a new exchange. I thank you for being part of this historic game.

Hon Nicholas Davidson QC

The President takes great pleasure in hosting the following Special Guests for the day;
Ms. Debbie Hockley CNZM – President NZ Cricket
John Wright MBE
Mrs Winsome Dormer – Honorary Consulate of Poland
His Worship The Mayor Dan Gordon – Waimakariri District Mayor
Mr Evan Gray – Wanderers CC & Former NZ Representative & Jillian Anderson
Mr Dayle Hadlee Former NZ Representative & Mrs Louise Hadlee
Mr Barry Hadlee Former NZ Representative & Mrs Lyndsey Hadlee
Mr David Kidd & Mrs Sarah Kidd (Arundel Castle)
Mr Lee Robinson MNZM Canterbury Cricket Trust & Mrs Marian Robinson
Mr David Bond “Willower” & Match Day Sponsor
Mr Cran Bull Former Canterbury Captain
Mr John Mitchell Past President of The Willows & Mrs Anne Mitchell

The Teams

Kirsty Bond has got together an outstanding group of former New Zealand Players and current players to provide a real test of cricket for the Willows School Girls XI.

Evan Gray of The Wanderers has put in a lot of work along with Paul Rutledge to make the game a reality. “The Wanderers and Willows are looking to forge closer links as clubs especially in regards to Women’s cricket and the development of the female game – we’re thrilled to announce the selection of Hannah Francis, Dhriti Girish and Kate Chandler who The Wanderers are sending to the Willows to play in this School Girls Selection XI against a Former International XI. The World Cup was the perfect window to commence this and we saw this as an opportunity for three cricketers from Wellington to experience The Willows and meet and play alongside similar age group cricketers from another region” – Evan Gray.

Former Internationals XI
Kirsty Bond
Lesley Murdoch
Catherine Campbell
Rowan Milburn
Rachel Candy
Emily Drumm
Rebecca Rolls
Anna Smith
Lisa Astle
Missy Banks
Abigale Gerken
Paula Winsor.

Schoolgirls Selection XI
Molly Loe
Chloe Deerness
Hannah O’Connor
Abby McKissock
Kate Hastings
Joey Hull
Yssa Cullen
Niamh McKenzie
Aine Molony
Dhriti Girish
Hannah Francis
Kate Chandler
Izzy Sharp

Umpires: Ms Khymne Darcy & Mr David Quested