09 April 2024

Lea Tahuhu & Mitch Hay named Players of the Year

NEWS | Canterbury Cricket recently announced the winners of the Canterbury Cricket Awards for the 2023/24 season. The ceremony, held at Fat Eddies in Christchurch, showcased the outstanding talent and remarkable achievements from the recently completed season.

The event, attended by players, coaches, officials, commercial partners and supporters alike, highlighted the dedication and hard work demonstrated by individuals across all teams. Amongst the cheers and applause, several standout performers emerged victorious, earning recognition for their exceptional seasons.

In two closely contested outcomes, the coveted Player of the Year awards were awarded to Lea Tahuhu and Mitch Hay, who both exhibited remarkable consistency and stellar performances throughout the season.

Lea had an exceptional season for the Magicians. In the Super Smash she picked up 10 wickets at an average of 16, ranking the 7th equal highest wicket taker for the competition. In the handful of matches she played in the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield she picked up 4 wickets at an average of 28.75. With the bat she scored 101 runs at average of 50.5, which included an exceptional knock of 67 not out off 42 balls. Over the international season she has currently accumulated 13 wickets, the most by any White Ferns player this season and was selected in the ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year.

Mitch Hay had an excellent season with both the bat and gloves. With the bat he accumulated a total of 989 runs across all three formats. He was an explosive finisher in the Super Smash and was a solid middle order presence in the Ford Trophy. But Plunket Shield is where Mitch shown the most, scoring a total of 562 at an average of 51.09, with three fifties and one century. He also accumulated a total of 51 catches and 2 stumpings across all three formats, proving that he is one of the premier wicketkeeper batsmen in the domestic competition.

In addition to individual awards, other categories honoured the invaluable contributions of coaches, volunteers, and administrators who play pivotal roles in shaping the cricketing landscape in Canterbury. Their tireless efforts behind the scenes ensure the smooth functioning and growth of the sport at all levels and we congratulate Amanda Hardy, Matt Cross and Andrew Bennett who were well deserved Local Champions.


Players of the Year

Male Player of the Year – Mitch Hay

Female Player of the Year – Lea Tahuhu


Players Player of the Year

Male Players Player of the Year – Zak Foulkes

Female Players Player of the Year – Frankie Mackay


Bowler of the Year

Male Bowler of the Year – Zak Foulkes

Female Bowler of the Year – Sarah Asmussen


Batter of the Year

Male Batter of the Year – Henry Nicholls

Female Batter of the Year – Frankie Mackay


Veterans Awards

O40’s Player of the Year – Hardeep Singh

O50’s Player of the Year – John Garry

O60’s Player of the Year – Craig Gibb

O70’s Player of the Year – Lance Ryan


Age Group Awards

U17 Male Bowler of the Year – Hunter Shore

U17 Male Batter of the Year – Callum Samson


U19 Male Bowler of the Year – George Gunn

U19 Male Batter of the Year – Tim Petrie


U19 Female Bowler of the Year – Abby McKissock

U19 Female Batter of the Year – Darcy-Rose Prasad


Local Champions Awards

Amanda Hardy (St Margarets College)

Matt Cross (Parklands Cricket Club)

Andrew Bennett (Coldstream Cricket Club)