Over 50 current and past Canterbury Women cricket representatives received a special commemorative personally numbered Canterbury cap at a capping ceremony held on January 2. The special occasion coincided with the double header fixture involving both the Women’s Magicians and Men’s Kings teams at Hagley Oval.
The caps are numbered in order of appearance for the Canterbury team with the earliest recipient being Pat Quickenden (nee Moore) who represented Canterbury in the 1947/1948 season and the latest being Kate Ebrahim who made her debut in the 2016/2017 season.
Debbie Hockley, the President of New Zealand Cricket, spoke at the ceremony, presented many of the caps and was also one of the recipients of a special cap. The caps were also presented by current White Ferns coach, Haidee Tiffen and Magicians captain and White Fern, Amy Satterthwaite.
Lee Germon, Chief Executive of Canterbury Cricket, described the event as “a very emotional, fitting event that it was an honour to be present at”. “The Canterbury Women’s teams over many years have established an enviable record of success and produced outstanding contributors to Canterbury and New Zealand Cricket. To see the pride with which these caps were received by the players and the obvious camaraderie that they share was an experience that will remain with me for a very long time. It is also wonderful that it is the start of a tradition of presenting a cap unique to our women cricketers who wear the red and black.”
Germon also paid tribute to the work done by Trudy Anderson, Operations Manager at Canterbury Cricket. “Trudy envisioned and drove this project which has taken some time to search and record the individual playing numbers for the women and then organise the capping ceremony.”
Further capping ceremonies will be organised to ensure as many past and present representatives can be presented with their individually numbered cap.

Comments are closed.